Posted on

cbd oil legal in indiana

However, although you can legally purchase industrial hemp CBD, it’s essential to do your research before placing an order.

When you shop online, you’re cutting out the middleman. This means that the supplier can usually offer you better discounts and bulk purchase options that would be hard to find locally. It’s the easiest way to save money on industrial hemp CBD.

How to Buy CBD in Indiana

If you’re going to use marijuana in Indiana, don’t get caught.

Indiana has some of the United States’ most restrictive marijuana laws. If caught with weed in the Hoosier State, you could face hefty fines and jail time.

It can be hard to track down the source of products sold over the counter. When you place your order online, you can quickly research the company to make sure it is using locally sourced, 100% organic, non-GMO, pesticide and THC-free industrial hemp.

The ambiguity of HB 1148 led to a new law that broadened consumer access to CBD and clarified regulations regarding its sale. Gov. Holcomb signed SB 52 in March 2018, allowing the use and sale of CBD for any purpose so long as it contained less than 0.3% THC by weight.

The cultivation of hemp for research purposes was made legal in Indiana in 2014, under the Industrial Hemp Act. Following the passing of the 2018 Farm Bill, Indiana lawmakers are currently drafting regulations to license and operate commercial Indiana-based hemp growers and processors.

Image lightbox

In addition to the federal regulation of CBD, the Farm Bill also gave states the option to regulate and prohibit the cultivation and commerce of CBD. States may regulate CBD in food, beverages, dietary supplements, and cosmetic products independently, even before the FDA finalizes its policies. Indiana has not specified any regulations regarding the use of CBD in food, beverages or cosmetic products, however.

After the passing of the Farm Bill, Indiana lawmakers swiftly drafted and passed SB 516. SB 516 further aligned Indiana’s terminology with that of the federal government and banned smokable CBD flower. However, there are no rules at present in Indiana that ban the use of CBD in food, beverages, or cosmetics.

The first possession offense is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days incarceration and a $1,000 fine. Those who have been convicted of a prior drug offense and found in possession of up to 30 grams, or 1.06 ounces, may be charged with a class A misdemeanor, receive up to one year imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000.