It’s legal to buy CBD oil in California, may it be extracted from hemp or marijuana.
CBD helps relieve many symptoms, but it’s not a magic pill that cures all.
Under federal law, marijuana and all its forms are illegal and considered a controlled substance. This includes CBD extracted from marijuana.
When Did California Legalize Marijuana?
Similarly, avoid brands, too, that sell very cheap CBD products.
The CBD oil’s certificate of analysis or COA is proof that the manufacturer cares for its consumers and follows the rules and regulations set by federal and state laws.
Hemp-derived CBD edibles may be illegal in the state, but this didn’t stop retailers and cannabis shops from selling the product. Moreover, the state also isn’t that strict in enforcing the ban.
Soon after the 2018 Farm Bill, the state introduced AB 228 in 2019, but the attempt to pass the bill was delayed partly due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Had the bill pushed through, this would have legalized the use of hemp-derived CBD in foods, beverages, and even cosmetics.
All you need to do is make your way to a local dispensary and pick up some bud for yourself! Just make sure you don’t have more than an ounce in your pockets, else you might draw some unwanted attention.
This law also allowed non-profit organizations to provide medical marijuana to those with a patient identification card.
There a few simple steps you can take to protect yourself from purchasing low-quality CBD products.
Recommended CBD Retailers in California
Although we recommend shopping online, California is an excellent place to be when it comes to purchasing CBD in person.
If you don’t see your city on the list, check out your local dispensaries, vape stores, or head shops. There are hundreds across California, so you should have no trouble tracking one down near you.
When Arnold Schwarzenegger was Governor of California, he passed Senate Bill 1449, which further reduced the punishment of possession of less than an ounce to a $100 fine and no mandatory court date.
Despite the worry over this issue, a new ray of sunshine might save the situation! In June 2019, the Assembly Bill 228 passed through the California Assembly and the California Senate with a small number of opposing votes.
You can possess CBD oil in California as there are no specific possession limits. Whether you have a prescription or not, California allows you to use cannabis and CBD products for health or therapeutic reasons. The only concern should be where you can get good quality and legal CBD in the state.
CBD or cannabidiol can be derived from either hemp or marijuana, and it has grown in popularity due to its health benefits. California is well-known for cable cars, the Hollywood entertainment industry, Golden Gate Bridge, and over the past few years, cannabis as well.
With online purchases, you can quickly and conveniently verify the brand by thoroughly do a background check on them. If you notice that the brand has many positive reviews, then it’s probably worth your trust. Hence if you are wary of online crooks, you can easily verify the seller’s legit status with a background check.
Is CBD Oil Legal in California?
The act, SB 566, also known as the California Industrial Hemp Farming Act, authorized the commercial production of industrial hemp in January 2017. Industrial hemp growers are required to register with a county agricultural commissioner before cultivation with an annual registration fee of $900.
Being one of the most liberal states in the United States, it is understandable that it would also be one of the prominent supporters of cannabis legalization. It was the first state to actually legalize medical marijuana when the Compassionate Use Act of 1996 was passed. They also legalized cannabis for recreational purposes 20 years later when the state passed the Adult Use of Marijuana Act.
The state was trying to clarify CBD legality and legalize hemp-derived CBD to be included in beverage, food, and cosmetics products without legal restriction by introducing AB 228 after the 2018 Farm Bill was passed. However, the bill was held. There the state’s laws surrounding CBD oil and hemp-derived CBD products remain consistent with the FDA until the bill is passed and signed by the Governor.
Hemp growers are also required to submit samples for THC concentration 30 days before harvest. Registrants should also submit their registration name and contact info, number, name of seed cultivar, anticipated harvest date, Global Positioning System coordinates, physical address, acreage of the crop, and general description of the location, as well as the name and contact info of the lab intended to conduct testing for THC content.